Frequently Asked Questions

  • Page 8
  • Is There a Minimum Age Requirement for Motorcycle Passengers in the State of Florida?

    Florida law does not address a minimum age for motorcycle passengers. However, other laws may apply, such as endangering a minor. (Dept. of Hwy. Safety and Motor Vehicles)

    Have You Been Injured In A Motorcycle Accident?

    If you've been hurt in Florida motorcycle accident you should speak with an experienced motorcycle accident lawyer as soon as possible. Contact us online or call our office directly at 727.446.0840 to schedule your free, no obligation consultation.

  • My Husband Insists on Buying a Motorcycle. What Insurance Should He have to Protect the Family if He is Injured in a Crash?

    The standard automobile No-Fault (PIP) does not apply to motorcycles. No proof of insurance is required to register a motorcycle. However, Florida's Financial Responsibility Law still applies if he is involved in an accident. He can face penalties and license revocation if he does not have proof of $10,000 in medical insurance coverage (health insurance qualifies.)

    Most motorcycle riders are under-insured. In addition to the required $10,000 in medical insurance, the best way to protect him and the family from the consequences of a serious injury is to have adequate uninsured motorist (UM) coverage which pays for his injury and losses if the car causing the accident is not insured or does not carry enough bodily injury insurance to pay all losses he might suffer. Keep in mind, uninsured motorist will pay medical, wage loss, pain & suffering and all damages the person who caused the accident should pay if they were adequately insured.

    It is unfortunate that most motorcycle riders I encounter in my practice have not obtained adequate UM coverage to protect themselves. In order to buy UM he will need bodily injury coverage. This protects him in the event he causes an accident injuring someone else. While it may not be required in Florida, for motorcycles, he will be unable to purchase UM in any greater amount than the bodily injury coverage on the bike. So, decide how much UM protection you feel you need and purchase BI at least in the same amount. Most people would say $100,000 is the least amount of BI or UM anyone should carry.

    Have You Been Injured In A Motorcycle Accident?

    If you've been hurt in Florida motorcycle accident you should speak with an experienced motorcycle accident lawyer as soon as possible. Contact us online or call our office directly at 727.446.0840 to schedule your free, no obligation consultation.

  • Who is Responsible for an Unsecured Load that Leads to a Florida Trucking Accident?

    The truck driver, the company that owns the truck, and the company whose job it was to load and secure the cargo can all potentially be held responsible for an unsecured load that leads to a trucking accident. By hiring a trucking accident attorney, you can be sure you are pursuing all the financial compensation from each person responsible.

    First, the driver is responsible for adhering to the rules of the road. Because they drive larger vehicles, truckers have a larger responsibility to drive carefully. Overworked truck drivers trying to make more money by going longer distances in shorter times can cause trucking accidents when they drive erratically and topple an unsecured load.

    Second, the company that owns the truck can also be found at fault. Old or worn truck hardware that gives out can release a load onto the highway. Common cargo like construction supplies, logs, or even cars can come tumbling off of a truck bed if its parts are worn, creating an unsecured load.

    Third, and often overlooked, is the company that loaded and secured the cargo on the truck can also be found at fault. An experienced trucking accident attorney knows to investigate all who could be at fault in your Florida trucking accident and this is yet another outlet for financial compensation.

    Have You Been Injured In A Truck Accident?

    If you've been hurt in Florida motorcycle accident you should speak with an experienced truck accident lawyer as soon as possible. Contact us online or call our office directly at 727.446.0840 to schedule your free, no obligation consultation.

  • Are There Any Laws That Dictate Whether a Semi-Truck Driver Can Text While Driving?

    In 2010, U.S. Transportation Secretary Ray LaHood announced a federal ban on texting while driving for commercial truck drivers. This ban prohibits texting while driving by operators of commercial motor vehicles such as large trucks and buses. The move was meant to prevent the occurrence of truck accidents.

    After the action was announced, LaHood stated, "We want the drivers of big rigs and buses and those who share the roads with them to be safe... this is an important safety step and we will be taking more to eliminate the threat of distracted driving."

    Under the new ban on texting while driving, truck drivers who text while driving may be penalized by legal fines of up to $2,750. According to a study conducted by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration, those who participate in texting while driving are distracted for an average of 4.6 seconds of every 6 seconds that they text. This can result in a truck accident, which may cause serious or fatal injuries.

    If you have been injured in a truck accident in Florida and you suspect that the truck driver was texting while driving, you'll want to tell your lawyer to help you obtain the driver's cell phone records. Showing that a truck driver was texting while driving leading up to your truck accident can help prove negligence and help support your truck accident claim.

    Recover Compensation if You Were a Victim Semi-Truck Accident

    • medical expenses
    • lost wages
    • pain and suffering
    • mental anguish
    • permanent disabilities
    • disfigurement
    • other accident-related expenses

    Have You Been Injured In A Truck Accident?

    If you've been hurt in Florida motorcycle accident you should speak with an experienced truck accident lawyer as soon as possible. Contact us online or call our office directly at 727.446.0840 to schedule your free, no obligation consultation.

  • If My Child Suffers a Fireworks Injury at a Neighbor's House, What Insurance is Available to Pay for Their Injury and Medical Costs?

    Homeowners insurance policies will provide coverage for the negligence of the homeowner. Almost any act of a neighbor handling or permitting the use of fireworks which cause someone to be injured would be considered negligence and should be covered. The typical homeowners insurance policy in Florida provides up to $300,000 in liability coverage to pay for serious injuries and losses.

    Because of the emotion involved, child injury cases are some of the most difficult to handle. Some of the injuries children suffer are the same as adults, such as auto accidents (the leading cause of injury to children) as well as slip/ falls.

    But many injuries are unique to children. For example, burns, fireworks injuries, school injuries, daycare injuries, golf cart, scooter/razor injuries, bicycle injuries, dog bite/animal attacks, and playground injuries are some of the injuries our office handles which are unique to children. You need an attorney you can trust, one who is genuinely interested in protecting the rights of children, and who will advocate on behalf of your child and your family.

    Has Your Child Been Injured In An Accident?

    If your child has been hurt in an accident it's important to contact an experienced child accident injury attorney as soon as possible. Please contact us online or call our office directly at 727.446.0840 to schedule your free consultation.

  • Who Makes Sure that Trucking Companies Operating in Florida and Elsewhere are Following Federal Regulations?

    The U.S. Department of Transportation's Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) is the agency that establishes federal trucking regulations.

    Standards and Guidelines for the U.S. Trucking Industry

    • drug and alcohol regulations
    • the hours of service that drivers may operate
    • qualifications for truck drivers
    • trucking company safety standards
    • standards for emissions and noise
    • requirements for inspection, maintenance and repair
    • weight, length, and width limitations

    In addition to the federal trucking laws established by the FMCSA, truckers in Florida must also abide by the rules established by Florida's Department of Transportation.

    A violation of these regulations can result in a truck accident. If you have been injured in a truck accident in Florida, and the accident was the result of someone else's negligence, you may be eligible for compensation in a truck accident claim.

    Negligence in a Truck Accident in Florida

    • truck driver error
    • truck inspection error
    • failing to properly load the truck's cargo
    • failing to obey federal truck driving laws
    • driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs
    • driving under adverse road conditions

    Have You Been Injured In A Truck Accident?

    If you've been hurt in Florida motorcycle accident you should speak with an experienced truck accident lawyer as soon as possible. Contact us online or call our office directly at 727.446.0840 to schedule your free, no obligation consultation.

  • My Son is 14 Years Old and Received a Motorized Scooter for His Birthday. May He Ride it on the Sidewalk?

    Motorized scooters are small vehicles designed to be ridden standing or seated. Some have gas motors, some are electric. They are not licensed or registered with the state of Florida. Therefore, they are not permitted on the roadway or sidewalk, even if the operator has a driver's license. Although most parents are not aware of this, according to the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, their use is restricted to private property.

    Have You Been Injured On A Scooter, Moped, Golf Cart Or ATV?

    You've been hurt in a vehicle accident you need to speak with an experienced personal injury attorney as soon as possible. Please contact us online or call our office directly at 727.446.0840 to schedule your free consultation.

  • How Do You Make an Injury Claim on a Golf Cart Accident?

    A golf cart accident doesn't just take place on the fairway. Golf cart use is becoming more common in subdivisions and retirement communities as well as short trip tours in apartment complexes and public areas like airports and malls. The injuries you can potentially suffer in a golf cart accident can be just as serious as those in a car accident. A personal injury lawyer can help you file a claim for damages when another person's negligence caused your injuries.

    The guidelines for holding another party liable are the same between a car accident and a golf cart accident. The other party must have acted in a negligent manner and through that negligent manner, caused you harm. Then, your personal injury lawyer will have to prove this through the use of evidence.

    Evidence Needed to Prove a Golf Accident Case

    • proof that you were operating the golf cart in a designated area under safe circumstances;
    • photographs of the accident scene and damage to you and the golf cart;
    • police report and witness statements; and
    • maintenance records for the golf cart.

    In a claim for a golf cart accident in you'll most likely be filing against another person or a manufacturer. If the accident was caused by another driver or pedestrian's negligence, it will be a claim against a person. If the accident was caused by a mechanical defect it may be against a golf cart manufacturer or maintenance company.

    Have You Been Injured On A Scooter, Moped, Golf Cart Or ATV?

    You've been hurt in a vehicle accident you need to speak with an experienced personal injury attorney as soon as possible. Please contact us online or call our office directly at 727.446.0840 to schedule your free consultation.

  • I was Hurt When Someone Drove Their Golf Cart Over Me. How Can I Get Compensated?

    Many people are seriously injured by the negligent operation of golf carts. All too often they cause serious lower extremity injuries, including leg fractures, ankle fractures, knee injuries as well as serious scarring and disfigurement.

    Florida has a Dangerous Instrumentality Doctrine which provides the owner is liable for harm done to anyone by a dangerous instrumentality they own. A car is a dangerous instrumentality, as is a golf cart. As a result, the operator of the car may be liable for its negligent operation. The owner of the car remains liable as well because it is a dangerous instrumentality.

    You may seek compensation for your injuries from the operator of a golf cart through their home owners insurance if they own a home. You may also pursue recovery from the owner. In most situations the owner would be a golf course or golf resort, which covers its golf carts under a general liability insurance policy.

    Have You Been Injured On A Scooter, Moped, Golf Cart Or ATV?

    You've been hurt in a vehicle accident you need to speak with an experienced personal injury attorney as soon as possible. Please contact us online or call our office directly at 727.446.0840 to schedule your free consultation.

  • Do I Have to Have a Light on My Bicycle if I Am Riding in Florida?

    If you are riding a bicycle in Florida between sunset and sunrise, then Florida bicycle regulations require you to have a light to maximize your safety as well as that of motorists.

    Florida Cyclists Must Do the Following When Riding at Night

    • be equipped with a lamp on the front of the bicycle that exhibits a white light that is visible from a distance of at least 500 feet to the front; and
    • be equipped with a lamp and a reflector on the rear of the bicycle that each exhibit a red light that is visible from a distance of 600 feet to the rear.

    In Florida, a bicycle may be equipped with extra lights or reflectors in addition to those that are required.

    A failure to abide by these regulations may result in a Florida bicycle accident. If you are riding your bicycle between sunset and sunrise without the required lights or reflectors, motor vehicle drivers may not see you on your bike.

    If your bicycle is equipped with the necessary lights and reflectors and you are injured in a Florida bicycle accident because of the negligence of a motor vehicle driver, then you may be eligible to recover compensation through a personal injury claim. 

    Have You Been Injured In A Bicycle Accident?

    If you've been hurt in a Florida bicycle accident you should speak with an experienced bicycle injury lawyer as soon as possible. Contact us online or call our office directly at 727.446.0840 to schedule your free, no obligation consultation.